Science Fiction


Taking the Highway : Free Kindle Book

Editor’s Note: TAKING THE HIGHWAY is an exciting novel that crosses several genres. So, if you are looking for that unique mystery and crime novel with some science fiction thrown in, check this one out!  

Good ideas, mystery, human interest, a romance that didn’t make me nauseous and action, action, action!


Book Description: Andre LaCroix moonlights as a fourth. All other times, he’s a Detroit cop. When someone starts to kill fourths, Andre pushes to be involved – and what follows is a race to find those responsible before Detroit is brought to its knees. 

For readers looking for something with a bit J.D. Robb, a bit Harlan Coben, with a William Gibson-like glimpse into the near-future and the fast pace of the “Die Hard” movies, TAKING THE HIGHWAY is worth the read. 

Author’s Inspiration:  Set in the same near-future Detroit as the author’s other novels, (The Caline Conspiracy and Fate’s Mirror), this stand-alone novel features new characters and new problems. Inspired by Detroit’s ghost-town neighborhoods and a proposal to shrink the city’s borders, we imagined a newly prosperous Detroit, but one where the prosperity came at a high human cost.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: John Cusack

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 4/17-4/19.

M.H. Mead

  


M.H. Mead is the shared pen name of Margaret Yang and Harry R. Campion. Friends and co-authors for over a decade, this duo writes with one unique voice that critics have called “science fiction fun on a stick.”

They would do anything for a slice of key lime pie. 

 

http://www.yangandcampion.com/

 

Connect with M.H. Mead:
       


Why Live? : Free Kindle Book

Editor’s Note: Human clones are made exactly to plan or are they? 

Why Live? is well-written, interesting and surprising. 


Book Description: To be, or not to be, the woman you were engineered to be? That’s the question facing third-generation clone Kai-Lee Fox. The answer she comes up with starts an interstellar witch hunt! 

Those who like J.D. Robb and I, Robot will like WHY LIVE?.  

Author’s Inspiration:  “Vanity, vanity, all is vanity,” sums up the birth of Kathy’s futuristic thriller, Why Live? The story came together one thought at a time. If life is vanity, why do we want to live forever? Why is immortality mankind’s Holy Grail? Should it be? Should we live forever? If we knew we were going to live forever, what would our attitude toward life be? Is immortality achievable? If so, how? Cloning, maybe? Would cloning alter history? If it’s true no man is an island …. What if a clone started to ask herself these questions?

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Renee Zellweger

From the Book: In the end, it boiled down to this: Our Alpha Generation was off course before they were born, their road map obsolete five hundred years before liftoff, because the stars they would trust to guide them were no longer be where they appeared to be. So, yeah. The A-team launched us into one heck of a fix. The other trouble started about four hundred years later. It started with me.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 4/16-4/18.

Kathy DiSanto

  


I’m an introvert, so I do a lot of living inside my head. Given my overactive imagination, that life gets pretty exciting at times. As a kid, I was constantly making up fantastical stories, which I made my younger friends act out. (Several tales included the ability to fly, but those recreations didn’t end so well, so I had to drop that idea. For the time being.)
I first discovered the joy of writing in high school. Can’t remember exactly what I wrote, but there was a lot of frenzy involved. I know this, because I misspelled the word often enough to frustrate my English teacher, Mr. Sanchez.
I started writing professionally at age 46, when my sister gave me the idea for my first romance novel, FOR LOVE OR MONEY. The rest, as they say, is history.
Favorite food: Ice cream, hands down
Favorite place to write: My study, with the windows open
Favorite music: the Vinegar Creek Constituency, and indie roots band
Favorite TV show: NCIS
Favorite recreation: walking my dog, Molly

 

http://www.kathydisanto.com/

Connect with Kathy:
       


Pollen : Free Kindle Book

Editor’s Note: Segregation by walls is a unique concept that was developed and explored in this new science fiction adventure. 

I was hooked from the first page!


Book Description: Pollen is a unique science fiction thriller that is set in a new world where the city is separated by walls. We encounter Rome Shackelton who on the  ten-year anniversary of a stunt that left him with a limp becomes entangled in the sinister underworld. It’s in that craziness, he meets Shunka who innocently gets sucked into the dark underbelly of the city. 

Readers who enjoyed Windup Girl, Snow Crash, and Wool will like POLLEN.  

Author’s Inspiration: I’m interested in the segregation of peoples lives. How today we are all locked into our bubbles of touch screens playing social games or on social media communicating more than ever, yet we never look up to see the people around us. 

Also the obsession we have with physical segregation, from the Israeli security fence to Morocco’s wall of shame in the Saharan desert. We’ve been building walls to keep people out, or people in but have they ever really worked? In the book I explore these themes with two characters on either side of the wall. Rome really wants to escape, in fact his life has been shaped by this desire, and Shunka doesn’t care, she’s a teenager and can’t even remember what the walls look like. yet the decisions made by the powers that be mean that we are all affected by forcing us to live and think within specific boundaries.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: John Cusack

From the Book: He sat, arms folded at a cheap plastic table under a café awning. Eyes closed, he sucked humid air through his nose. Slowly he sank his chin into his chest. He wasn’t sleepy; he was scheming. The Riverside Café on the busy corner of two main streets was Rome Shackleton’s favorite haunt. ‘Riverside’ was a reference to the last river which was filled in to make room for building developments. All the water was underground these days, and no one missed it. The mosquitoes had nowhere left to breed.

 

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 4/10-4/12.

Aaron Lamb

  


Aaron Lamb born in the Medway Towns, just out side of London and grew up in the gritty terrace housing of a main road to an industrial estate. Wrote his first novel aged 11 and hasn’t stop telling stories since.

He has completed solo treks in the wilderness of Norway and Finland, lived in rural Cambodia and has run one ultra marathon – which he will never do again!

Favorite Food: Sweet and Sour Chicken!

 

Favorite Place to Write: I love writing in cafes (cliche I know) or at home at my desk bouncing ideas about with my wife
Favorite Music: Tom Waits, Rasputina, REM and anything with a Lindy Hop beat

 

Favorite TV show: I love include Parks and Recreation, Walking Dead, The Wire, Treme and Game of Thornes

 

http://www.pollenthenovel.com/

Connect with Aaron:
       



Page 217 of 230« First...102030...215216217218219...230...Last »