Thriller


KILLER IN A BOX (Detective DiPino Thriller): Free Kindle Book

Editor’s Note: KILLER IN A BOX is a suspenseful novel that illustrates the notion that we all need to pay the piper at some point. 

Outstanding book keeps you on the edge of your seat guessing.


Book Description: Armand DiPino, a young detective, finds himself responding to a ten thirteen, officer down. He enters a sealed off grid of city blocks the police refer to as the box. In a blinding rain storm he enters an alley inside the box to confront the killer who has created a media frenzy in the media capital of the world.

Those who enjoyed Gone Girl, The Concrete Blonde, and Mystic River will enjoy KILLER IN A BOX. 

Author’s Inspiration:  Living in lower Manhattan fired my creative instincts.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Hugh Jackman

From the Book: “I’ll have your Ball- Breaker special.” Armand DiPino drummed his fingers on the counter. Smells from the deep fryer beckoned. Plenty of fat, wanton and seductive. Two poached eggs, wheat toast. Breakfast at the All-Star offered the reverse polarity of indigestion, then food. It was the haven he’d chosen. Mornings were still awful. DiPino never lingered at first light, fearing his dreamscape would follow him out the door.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/28-3/30.

David Thayer

  


I cannot remember a time in my life when I didn’t want to be a writer. I am sure that there must have been. I think books make us all civilized. At least more civilized. My small contribution to the human experience is very gratifying and I am fortunate to be able to do it.

Favorite Food: Seafood risotto

 

Favorite Place to Write: I can write anywhere. 

 

Favorite Music: All kinds of blues. 

 

Favorite TV show: MI5

 

http://www.amazon.com/David-Thayer/

Connect with David:
       


Saving Jackie K : Free Kindle Book

Editor’s Note: Need a some thrill that doesn’t come from an expensive trip to Disneyland? Check out SAVING JACKIE K! 

A thrill ride through time, space and history!


Book Description:  There is a desperate escape from a tyrannical government, which leads to a mind-boggling journey to alter history. Along the way the shocking truth about a sinister conspiracy is revealed.

Readers who like Dan Brown, Michael Crichton, or Harry Turtledove will like SAVING JACKIE K.  

Author’s Inspiration:  What would have happened if JFK had lived?

From the Book: Tera Banks clambered up the rungs on the side of the Chamber, a six-foot diameter aluminum-coated sphere resembling an enormous fishbowl. Dropping into its hollow core, she crammed herself and the bulky parcel on her back next to the petite frame of her mentor, once renowned physicist Dr. Iggy Mikos. She grasped the handle on the hatch and creaked it closed, enveloping them in darkness. “He’s coming. Punch it!”

Iggy stabbed at backlit buttons on each end of the Converter, a twelve-inch-long barbell-like device with a handhold in the middle. Her finger slipped. Patience. Feeding on Sera’s impetuousness could get them both killed. She steeled herself and counted off the memorized sequence. “Here we go!” They strapped on oxygen masks, and she entered the final keystroke.

A blinding flash of light and a deafening roar consumed the Chamber. The two scientists shrieked in agony before passing out.

 

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/28-4/1.

L.D.C Fitzgerald

  

L.D.C. Fitzgerald is the author of blockbuster novel, SAVING JACKIE K, a thrilling adventure to save the First Lady. In writing a story with an unexpected twist on the Kennedy Conspiracy, Fitzgerald relentlessly researched the facts regarding the JFK assassination, and wove them into a fictional world. The author even consulted with renowned conspiracy experts, and scouted the hallowed grounds in Dallas. 

Where does the fact end and the fiction begin?

“Everything in my novel is true, except the stuff I made up.” – L.D.C. Fitzgerald

http://www.savingjackiek.com/

Connect with L.D.C:
       


The Serpent in the Glass (The Tale of Thomas Farrell) : Free Kindle Book

Editor’s Note: THE SERPENT IN THE GLASS is a brilliant children’s fantasy story that will keep you and your middle-schooler up into the wee hours of the night! 

The Serpent in the Glass has finely drawn characters, wonderful atmosphere and a compelling plot!


Book Description: A book for children aged 9 to 99. Set in modern Britain and the ancient mythic otherworld of Avallach, The Serpent in the Glass tells the tale of eleven-year-old Thomas Farrell and the strange glass orb he inherits from his unknown father…

Those who enjoyed the Harry Potter series will enjoy THE SERPENT IN THE GLASS.  

Author’s Inspiration:  This story was initially inspired by the legends surrounding Avebury in Wiltshire, England. Scottish folklore and Irish myth also provide an inspiration, and have consequently been woven into the tapestry of the tale. But, beyond that, it is a story of a young boy simply trying to understand who he is, and where he’s come from – and how he can summon the courage to pursue and face those truths.

From the Book: Thomas’s senses seemed to sharpen. He could smell lush grass and see the silver trees stretching out around them. The moon rode high and bright, and the sky held a multitude of shimmering stars. Enormous dark mountains loomed up on either side of them. They must have been standing in a deep and very narrow valley. The stillness of the night was deafening.

 

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/22-3/24.

D.M. Andrews

  


D.M. Andrews was born in England and has been lucky enough to live there for all his life. His stories always have a connection to Britain, and he very much enjoys original fantasy as a medium for conveying his tales to his readers. D.M. Andrews writes for the young-minded and likes to think his books appeal to all confident readers, be they nine or ninety-nine. He became an author because he’s not much good at anything else. He intends to stay an author, too.

Favorite Food: I like English food, a good Sunday roast! Sometimes I have the odd Chinese, if I’m feeling adventurous

 

Favorite Place to Write: I like to write in a quiet place without distraction. Finding such a place is another thing.

 

Favorite Music: I’m a big fan of soundtracks and of Enya. Recently I’ve got into such cool and current Internet sensations as Pentatonix and Lindsey Stirling

 

Favorite TV show: I don’t watch much TV, but I do like period dramas – Downton Abbey, Mr Selfridge, that sort of thing.

 

http://www.writers-and-publishers.com/

Connect with D.M.:
       


Young Gifted and Bad (Sweets Maybrey) : Free Kindle Book

Editor’s Note: YOUNG GIFTED AND BAD is the second of the Sweets Maybrey series that will keep you on the edge of your seat. 

Its a crime novel from a unique perspective! 


Book Description: This is the second novel in the Sweets Maybrey series. Sweets has assumed control of black crime in west Philadelphia but uneasy is the head that wears the crown. Murder surrounds him, the dagger points sharp, the hands holding the daggers both known and unknown. He expands his territory, making war with the Mafia. This adds to the enemies in his camp and in his bed. How will Sweets sort through friend from foe and come out victorious?

Those who like Walter Mosley will like YOUNG GIFTED AND BAD.  

Author’s Inspiration:  In 2003 my father and brother both passed away. Both were criminals – my father was a numbers runner and my brother a thief and hustler. I knew neither person well – they kept their criminal lives fairly hidden. Still, I learned more than I wanted about how they each conducted their business. I wondered, especially as my father wasted away in a hospice, what I would have done if he had presented me with the option to follow in his footsteps. What choice would I have made? In the Sweets Maybrey series, the main character has to make this decision and, once committed, live with the consequences.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Chris Brown

From the Book: I climbed the steps in my roach killers, which by some miracle still gleamed in the pale light leaking in from the grocery below. I had my left hand on my neck and my right hand, my best for shooting, among other things, on my nickel-plated Detonic Combat Master .45 automatic. The gun, too, gleamed, and although I cleaned it regularly, as the old heads encouraged me to do, I didn’t shine it as vigorously or as often as I shined my shoes. I walked softly up the steps, in case someone was waiting for me. No one was waiting. The whole world, it seemed, had taken cover, expecting the worse. Waiting, breathing slowed just a bit, just like me. I will kill the next person who walks into my office. I don’t know who it will be, although I have some ideas.

 

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/22-3/24.

Barry C Davis

  


I have been writing for 10 years, primarily novels but also short stories and screenplays. I write because I have strong opinions and novels are the best way to convey those opinions while offering captivating entertainment. I was born in the ghetto and write from that vantage point. Although I have expanded into horror and fantasy novels my bread and butter is urban fiction. The Sweets Maybrey series is based upon assimilated knowledge of Philadelphia’s criminal machinations. My goal is to bring the reader inside the sex and crime while revealing the humanity behind the brutality.

What is your favorite food, place to write, music to listen to, TV show?: My favorite food is, of course, a real deal Philly cheesesteak. I love to write at 3AM in my spare bedroom with a cup a coffee at my elbow. My favorite shows are Justified and Elementary.

 

http://www.blackmantellingtales.blogspot.com/

Connect with Barry:
       



Page 322 of 357« First...102030...320321322323324...330340350...Last »