The Blogger Abides – Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: This is a practical, but entertaining, guide for anyone interested in a freelance lifestyle.

A great guide that I’ll be referencing forever- he’s definitely your friend in the freelance industry.


Book Description: I’m a full-time freelance writer, with stories on This American Life, a daily column for Mental Floss, and I’ve contributed to The Atlantic, among many other publications. So how do writers like me get started? How do they get paid? In The Blogger Abides, I tell you everything I’ve learned along the road from blogger-as-side-job to full-time freelancer.

Readers who like APE: Author, Publisher, Entrepreneur, On Writing by Stephen King, or The War of Art will like THE BLOGGER ABIDES.

Author’s Inspiration:  When I wrote my first This American Life piece, I talked to some authors who were about five years ahead of me in their writing careers. What they told me was far more valuable than what veteran writers (like Stephen King) could tell me; these writers had just solved the problems I was facing, including dumb stuff like how to pay my taxes. After I’d been a freelancer for five years, I discovered that new writers were coming to me for tips — so I wrote a book.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Philip Seymour Hoffman.

From the Book: So let’s face it: you want to be a professional writer. You want to have a business card that says “Professional Writer” and you want to pay your income taxes every quarter, unlike those poor slobs who file once a year while punching a clock at the widget factory, waiting to die without any publication credits to their names? Your parents will not like your new job, but at least you’ll get to tell people at parties “I’m a writer” and not be a total poseur. (Be prepared for the next question: “So what kind of stuff do you write?” If you don’t have a really good answer, you’ll seem like a total poseur.)

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free on 3/8.

Chris Higgins

   

Chris Higgins has been writing for national magazines since the age of 12. His first cover story was called “The Care and Feeding of Fancy Guppies,” and since then he has largely avoided writing about fish — the A.P. dubbed him “The Guppy Guru” and my classmates never forgot it.

MY FAVORITE FOOD: I’m addicted to cashews, especially after I learned that they grow out of “cashew apples,” making the cashew technically a seed, rather than a nut (nerd alert!).

WHAT I LISTEN TO: I listen to the Pixies and Philip Glass when I write.

MY FAVORITE SHOWS: I watch a lot of West Wing and LOST.

WHERE I WRITE: My favorite place to write is my back porch in Portland, Oregon. It’s green and it’s always drizzling.

http://www.chrishiggins.com

Connect with Chris:
       


Winter Haven : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: This murder-mystery has a touch of class- perfect for a reader looking for something fun.

A richly detailed and unique suspense book!


Book Description: January Justice is the first in a series called The Malcolm Cutter Memoirs. Malcolm has just lost a wife he can tell no one he was married to and is on a mission to find her killer. In the meantime he takes up cases that may just mean the end of him as well.

Readers who like The Jack Reacher series by Lee Child will like WINTER HAVEN.

Author’s Inspiration: Murder mysteries from the likes of Raymond Chandler.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Matt Damon.

From the Book:   ONE OF THE STRANGEST THINGS ABOUT THE CITY was the sudden way it disappeared around the edges. One minute you were down on Sunset Boulevard surrounded by glass and concrete, and the next thing you knew you were up on Mulholland Drive, alone in the rough country. From a high window or a rooftop almost anywhere in Los Angeles you could see the mountains, and there was always something ravenous up there looking down.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/8-3/12.

Athol Dickson

   

Athol Dickson is an award-winning author of suspense, mystery, and literary novels. He lives in southern California with his wife.

MY FAVORITE PLACE TO BE: Anywhere on the water. I love my boat.

www.MalcolmCutter.com

Connect with Athol:
       


Children of the Fog : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: Think of the best paranormal mystery thriller you’ve ever read- this one is almost certainly better. Don’t miss out on snagging it while it’s free!

A creepily good book that never loses momentum!


Book Description: Sadie O’Connell is a bestselling author and a proud mother, and her son has just been abducted by a serial abductor known only as The Fog. And she can’t tell a soul.

Readers who like Heather Graham, Gone Girl, Traces of Kara, or Dean Koontz will like CHILDREN OF THE FOG.

Author’s Inspiration:  I was inspired a fear that I have–the fear of being in a submerged vehicle.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Gerard Butler.

From the Book: For the past six years, whenever Marcus slept, his dead wife and son came to visit, taunting him with their spectral images, teasing him with familiar phrases, twisting his mind and gut into a guilt-infested cesspool. The only way to escape their accusing glares and spiteful smiles was to wake up. Or not go to sleep. Sleep was the enemy. He did his best to avoid it..

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/7-3/10.

Cheryl Kaye Tardif

   

Cheryl Kaye Tardiff is an author of suspense, mystery, thrillers, and crime novels- and most have an element of paranormal or supernatural to them. She loves diving into characters’ emtions and writes to tell the stories in her head.

MY FAVORITE FOOD : Mexican.

WHERE I WRITE: On the recliner in my living room

WHAT I LISTEN TO: Anything instrumental when I’m writing; pop when I’m not.

http://www.cherylktardif.com

Connect with Cheryl:
       


SEO for Content Writers and PR Pros : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: If you write anything on the web, you’ll get a lot out of this book! It’s a how-to guide for maximizing SEO, getting your website more traffic- who wouldn’t want that?!

This great guide really helped me get a grip on SEO!


Book Description: Writers want their words to find readers. This ebook offers a step by step guide to SEO and online marketing techniques especially for writers of all kinds.

Readers who like SEO Made Simple by Michael H. Fleischner, SEO 2013 and Beyond by Dr Andy Williams, or Optimise by Lee Odden will like SEO FOR CONTENT WRITERS & PR PROS.

Author’s Inspiration: After working with a range of public relations, content and fiction writers over the years, I wanted to write a guide to SEO and web marketing that was specifically focused on connecting individual articles, stories, blogposts and content with an intended audience.

From the Book:  We know PR professionals are great at creating fantastic content; we read it daily on companies’ website blogs and on social media platforms. But it’s not just about creating great content – it’s also about creating the right content based on solid research and using SEO strategies within that content to reach and engage the target market.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/7-3/8.

Phil Byrne

   

Phil is a self described “location independent” web marketeer currently working and living from various locations around the globe. Some people think that means I sit on the beach with my smart phone! Occasionally I do, but more regularly you’ll find me helping others find their voice and market online armed with a well made coffee and a smile. I write ebooks because I enjoy helping others utilise the many wonders of the web to enhance both their professional and personal lives.

MY FAVORITE THINGS: I adore great stories, wonderful songs, almost constant travel and my faithful dog.

http://philbyrne.co.uk

Connect with Phil:
       


Busy Mom’s Guide to Stree Free Organization : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: We know how busy it is to be a mom. Sometimes, just being organized can make your whole life easier!

A helpful guide to keep me organized!


Book Description: Being a busy mom is stressful and time consuming. Keeping a clean and decluttered home can be next to impossible. This book looks to teach you how you can have a clean and clutter free home without sacrificing too much time.

Readers who like Martha Stewart will like BUSY MOM’S GUIDE TO STRESS FREE ORGANIZATION.

Author’s Inspiration:  As a busy mom I needed to keep my home clean but I had only a short amount of time. These are my tested and true methods that will help you keep a clutter free home.

 

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free on 3/7.