Tag: Mystery


The Mummifier’s Daughter : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: This book is an awesome blend of historical mystery, thriller, romantic suspense, and is all painted with amazingly vivid descriptions of ancient Egypy!

A fun and intriguing Egyptian historical mystery- with a twist!


Book Description: Neti-Kerty is an unusual thing in ancient Egypt because her father taught her the art of embalming and preparing bodies for mummification and burial. She is familiar with biology and anatomy, and being a bright girl she grew into an apprentice for her beloved father. Her skills drew the attention of Shabaka, a Nubian police man sent by the Pharaoh to uncover the mystery behind some dodgy things going on in the busy city of Thebes.

Readers who like John Maddox Roberts, Stephanie Dray or Ken Follett will like  THE MUMMIFIER’S DAUGHTER.

Author’s Inspiration: I’ve always been fascinated by the mystery and magic of ancient Egypt.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Megan Fox.

From the Book: Neti-Kerty and Shabaka ascended the steps leading to Thebes’s largest Per-Nefer chambers. The high-roofed building with its impressive pillared entrance, festooned with hieroglyphics honoring the gods, was divided into a series of chambers: where individual embalmers set about their work whilst training up the next generation of embalmers.
Their entrance was greeted by the familiar smell of burning spices: the smell originating from the lamps lighting the main chamber, all being filled with a herd infused oil. The smell, although overwhelming, could not completely dispel the stench of dead bodies.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/2-3/3.

Nathaniel Burns

    
After three years of research and six months of writing Nathaniel Burns published his debut novel “Honour and Glory – The Battle for Saxony”, a historical novel set in the dark ages, as an Kindle ebook on Amazon.com in February 2013..

 

Connect with Nathaniel:
       


Saving Ben : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: This mystery thriller has got some intriguing characters- definitely don’t miss it!

This is a page-turner that is just utterly beauitful and haunting.


Book Description:  Katherine is a college freshman, finally free from her dysfunctional family. Her psycopath roommate capture’s her brother’s heart- and Katherine must save him.

Readers who like Beautiful Disaster, Gone Girl, or Summerland will like  SAVING BEN.

Author’s Inspiration: I wrote a novel, SAVING BEN, in honor of my brother, the boy I worshipped, the man I could not save. It’s not a memoir, but a story about the special bond between siblings.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Dakota Fanning.

From the Book: When I first met Badger, in language school in El Paso, someone had already pinned that nickname on him. The wide face, high flat forehead and a nose so sharp it could have been fashioned from folded cardboard, made the nickname inevitable. His eyes were the clearest blue and his smile encompassed his entire face. Badger wasn’t tall; he owed his imposing presence to a stocky, muscular build. When I asked about his nickname, he said it had something to do with his disposition. I never questioned that, as I never questioned much of what he told me; his manner was as reassuring as a priest’s.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/2-3/3.

Ashley Farley

   

Ashley lives in Richmond, Virginia with her husband and two teenagers.

WHERE I WRITE: I like to write on my porch by the creek.

MY FAVORITE FOOD: My favorite food is pizza, although I don’t allow myself to splurge too often.

WHAT I LISTEN TO: I love all kinds of music from Van Morrison to Pink, depending on my mood.

MY FAVORITE SHOW:Downton Abbey is my favorite television program.

MY FAVORITE HOBBY: I LOVE to swim.

www.ashleyfarley.net

Connect with Ashley:
       


Chasing Amanda : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: This thriller will hold you on the edge of your seat. If you’re a parent, you’ll definitely be able to relate to the challanges these characters must face.

There are so many secrets, you just can’t put it down!


Book Description: One child dead, another missing. Small town secrets are revealed. Join Molly as she faces her worst nightmare and tries to uncover the clues to find a missing child.

Readers who like Lisa Scottoline will like CHASING AMANDA.

Author’s Inspiration: Every parent’s worst nightmare.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Sandra Bullock

From the Book: Molly bent her lean body at the waist one last time to loosen her hips, pulling her head almost between her shins, her long, auburn ponytail flipped toward the ground. A faint clicking sound caught her attention, and she let her gaze move in its direction, but from her upside-down view, she couldn’t see anything out of the ordinary. She turned and faced the aged white clapboard church which loomed behind her. Molly shielded her eyes from the bright sun and watched a blue bird whisk by. Blue bird, blue bird, fly away home. Your wings are signs of peace for none.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 2/28-3/1.

Melissa Foster

   

Melissa Foster is a writer and supporter of indie authors. She teaches new authors about book marketing and social media to help them reach readers.

MY FAVORITE FOOD: Chocolate.

WHERE I WRITE: A window filled office.

WHAT I LISTEN TO: Every music ever made.

http://www.melissafoster.com

 

Connect with Melissa:
       


Archangels : Rise of the Jesuits (Free Kindle eBook)

Editor’s Note: In solving a murder-mystery, this book untangles a web of corruption in the Catholic church.

A mysterious page-turner with a financial twist.


Book Description: The murder of a Jesuit priest brings corruption in the Vatican to light. There’s a struggle over power and money endangering the lives of Michael Visconte and his family- and someone must be brought to justice.

Readers who like Dan Brown or Paul Erdman will like ARCHANGELS.

Author Inspiration: The ongoing Vatican Bank scandals and the murder of Roberto Calvi along with the murders of Italian investigators over several decades inspired this work. I’ve long been fascinated by international money laundering and the Church’s global financial connections. The global financial crisis of 2008 and its aftermath was also an inspiration. “Rise of the Jesuits introduces the key characters who challenge Wall Street and global central bankers in the sequel, “Archangels 2: Vatican Gold.”

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 2/28 – 3/2.

Janet Tavakoli

  

Janet Tavakoli is an American author and structured finance expert based in Chicago. She has had three books published on credit derivatives, structured finance, and the 2008 global financial crisis.

http://www.tavakolistructuredfinance.com/


Livin’ Lahaina Loca – Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s note: It’s winter here, but we wish it was a warm Hawaiian night instead! We’re hoping this book will warm us up a little.

A fun, nail-biting, and hilarious Hawaii mystery that I couldn’t put down!

Book Description: In Lahaina, Maui, a wedding planner is on a mission on Halloween night. There’s a missing bridesmaid, and vengeance in the air.

If you like Sue Grafton, you’ll like LIVIN LAHAINA LOCA

Author’s Inspiration: Halloween is crazy fun in Lahaina, Maui, but there’s a dark edge to it. When I lived in Maui I always wondered if Halloween night would be a good time to commit a serious crime while the police were busy busting drunks and writing up tourists for public nudity.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 2/17-2/19.

JoAnn Bassett

  

JoAnn Bassett grew up in Seattle and lived in Maui, where she gained much of her writing inspiration.

MY FAVORITE THINGS: I love all things Hawaiian. If people who love French stuff are Francophiles, and folks who love British stuff are Anglophiles, then I guess I’d be an Alohaphile. I count almost all of it as my favorites.

My FAVORITE FOODS: Pineapple and kalua pork. I draw the line at Spam. Try as I might, that’s one local favorite I just can’t embrace.

MY FAVORITE MUSIC: Slack key guitar and Iz and Keali’i Reichel

MY FAVORITE PLACE: Honokowai in Weside Maui

MY FAVORITE TV SHOW: Hawaii Five-O.


http://www.joannbassett.com

  

Connect with JoAnn:
       


Sons of Zadok : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: This book is a global adventure that tries to uncover a huge conspiracy. They must dive into history, only to find a very modern discovery.

I love the amazing connections to history!


Book Description: A news correspondent is ordered to be killed by her son because she’s investigating his society of assassins.

Readers who like The Templar Legacy or The Da Vinci Code will like SONS OF ZADOK.

Author’s Inspiration: The original novel in the Charlotte Ansari Thriller series, called THE SHEKINAH LEGACY, which established the characters and set into motion the complex tale that needs to continue.

The Main Character Would Be Played By: Joan Allen

Excerpt: “Charlotte Ansari stares at the man with the raised gun. Her heart beats against her rib cage as she recalls a similar scene that occurred five years ago in Kashmir. But she had survived that threat, and she will not let this man take her down.

With a blindingly fast rise of her arms she grasps the 9mm Glock 19 in both hands and rapidly fires five rounds, striking the man in a tight cluster around the neck and upper chest.”

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free on 2/15.

Gary Lindberg

  


Gary is an author of thriller and historical fiction books.

MY FAVORITE FOOD: Pizza.

WHERE I WRITE: I love writing at my computer desk with dual monitors to spread out my research and work.

WHAT I’M LISTENING TO: I am passionate about jazz.

WHAT I’M WATCHING: My favorite TV show currently is “Scandal”.

http://www.lindbergbooks.com/

Connect with Gary:
       


Horses and Heroin : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: There’s a big mystery mixed with romance in this free Kindle book. Maybe Jockey school just isn’t as tame as we all might have thought…

I got totally lost in this thrilling romantic mystery!


Book Description: Head to an illustrious jockey school with Megan to solve the mystery of her missing brother. In her hunt for the truth through a big conspiracy, she also finds herself entwined in a blossiming romance. But who can she trust?

Readers who liked Seabiscuit will like HORSES AND HEROIN.

 

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 2/15-2/19.

Bev Pettersen

  

Horses have always been part of Bev’s life, so the thought of writing about them was irresistible. She lives in Nova Scotia with her family.

MY HOBBIES: When she’s not riding, Bev loves to be riding horses!

http://www.bevpettersen.com/

  

Connect with Bev:
       



Page 261 of 283« First...102030...259260261262263...270280...Last »