Tag: Mystery


Liquid Lies : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: It doesn’t matter how comfy the chair is- you’ll be on the edge of your seat for this whole book.

The tension and fast pace will keep you guessing.


Book Description: Two girls have secrets, there’s one dead body, and the body count is rising.

Readers who like Laura Lippman, Sue Grafton, or James Patterson will like LIQUID LIES.

Author’s Inspiration: This book is both based on Lavrisa’s midwestern Wisconsin background and home in Savannah. This book was sparked from a local event combined with her interest in Lake Geneva. She wondered if more could be happening than the tourists could see, beneath the pristine surface.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/13-3/14.

Lois Lavrisa

  


Lois has four children (two boys, two girls) with her husband of 22 years (Tom). She has written for many outlets, including magazines, newsletters, and a local newspaper.

www.loislavrisa.com

Connect with Lois:
       


Four Widows : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: We love the premise of this book: murder-solving female sleuths that have the strength to overcome their obstacles!

A really entertaining mystery that is full of heart!


Book Description: FOUR WIDOWS is a Fashionable mystery with four feisty women who unravel secrets, solve murder and share heartbreak. Should you find out who murdered your husband or is it better to bury the truth?

Readers who love Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, Sister by Rosamund Lupton, or The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger will like FOUR WIDOWS.

Author’s Inspiration: I was reading the medical book Better (a surgeon’s note on performance) by Atul Gawande and it gave me inspiration for one of the husbands in the book: heart surgeon Dr Harrison Warner.

I thought, people make mistakes. Even esteemed, clever people slip up some times. This was the inspirational seed that led me to develop the plot.

Poor Harrison doesn’t get to kick up his heels in the book because he is dead right from the start but his presence resonates throughout. The four widows might be the main characters but he is there, always.

Actor who would play the Main Character: Emily Blunt as Lori Walker

From the Book: “My husband was murdered,” I said without missing a beat, shocked to hear how the words sounded out loud for the first time. Suzanne dropped her drink and the glass flute shattered spectacularly the Cece’s Fired Earth Floor. I looked down and thought the moment to be particularly prophetic; my life in a million little pieces.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free on 3/13-3/16.

Helen macArthur

  


Helen MacArthur is a freelance writer and copy editor turned fiction author, living in London.

MY FAVORITE FOOD: I’m Scottish so I’m partial to pastries, chips (fries) and macaroni cheese.

WHERE I WRITE: I write at my desk in the loft (mad woman in the attic) looking at a white wall. No view. Too distracting.

MY FAVORITE MUSIC: I’ll listen to anything: Dolly Parton; Birdy; Stevie Nicks; Emeli Sande; Tupac Shakur; Queen Latifah; Elbow; Linkin Park; Florence & The Machine.

MY FAVORITE SHOW: I’m obsessed with old and new American drama series such as Friday Night Lights; The Shield; Damages; Weeds; Homeland. I didn’t get into Breaking Bad, alas.

http://www.4widows.com/

Connect with Helen:
       


Curiosity Killed the Kat : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: Theres Romance, Suspense, Crime, and Love in this book- but maybe ignorance isn’t bliss.

Top notch character building and descriptive writing make for a captivating read!

Book Description: Katherine had a perfect marriage- until her husband tried to kill her. Turns out, he’s the head of a human trafficking organization. Will she be saved by love, or killed by curiosity and her desire for justice?

Readers who like  Collen Hoover or E.L. James  will like CURIOSITY KILLED THE KAT.

Author’s Inspiration: This series is centered on the personality of Katherine, so without a doubt she was the one I connected with and was my favorite to write about. She’s naïve, rather innocent, submissive but with hidden strength and courage she discovers inside herself when pushed a bit over the edge. She’s a woman who has many thoughts, ultimately in due time turning those thoughts into action; liberating herself from the confinements of her husband. There is a lot going on with Katherine and that’s what made this story so exciting to develop and write.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Sandra Bullock

From the Book: He got up to shower while I laid still hogtied on the bed. This was a favorite habit of Steven’s. He often made me lay tied or gagged while he cleaned up after sex. When he was done, he would come back into the bedroom and look at me lying there – sometimes he would take a photo before he untied me and told me to clean up. Tonight I heard the shower turn off and he returned to the bedroom, his perfectly chiseled body wrapped in a towel, and he untied me without a word, turning away as if I disgusted him. “Clean yourself up. Change the sheets on the bed. We have to meet one of the partners and his wife for dinner in two hours.”

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free on 3/9-3/11.

Elizabeth Nelson

  

Elizabeth Nelson has been writing since she was a teen. She is passionate about empowering women and philanthropy projects. Elizabeth now lives in Los Angeles with her two dogs.

MY FAVORITE SHOW: I’m addicted to The Bachelor. Sean, will you marry me? Ha!

Connect with Elizabeth:
       


Winter Haven : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: This murder-mystery has a touch of class- perfect for a reader looking for something fun.

A richly detailed and unique suspense book!


Book Description: January Justice is the first in a series called The Malcolm Cutter Memoirs. Malcolm has just lost a wife he can tell no one he was married to and is on a mission to find her killer. In the meantime he takes up cases that may just mean the end of him as well.

Readers who like The Jack Reacher series by Lee Child will like WINTER HAVEN.

Author’s Inspiration: Murder mysteries from the likes of Raymond Chandler.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Matt Damon.

From the Book:   ONE OF THE STRANGEST THINGS ABOUT THE CITY was the sudden way it disappeared around the edges. One minute you were down on Sunset Boulevard surrounded by glass and concrete, and the next thing you knew you were up on Mulholland Drive, alone in the rough country. From a high window or a rooftop almost anywhere in Los Angeles you could see the mountains, and there was always something ravenous up there looking down.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/8-3/12.

Athol Dickson

   

Athol Dickson is an award-winning author of suspense, mystery, and literary novels. He lives in southern California with his wife.

MY FAVORITE PLACE TO BE: Anywhere on the water. I love my boat.

www.MalcolmCutter.com

Connect with Athol:
       


Just Evil: Free Kindle Book

Editor’s Note: If you like romance, suspense, and MURDER as much as we do, you’re definitely gonna get caught in this awesome read.

It’s an exciting, fast-moving mystery, and it’s book one in a trilogy!

Book Description: Three Beverly Hills friends have hidden their dark pasts. Kit, Baylee, and Quinn haven’t had perfect lives and their past secrets are about to be brought back to the present.

Readers who like Nora Roberts, Lisa Jackson, or Karen Robards will like JUST EVIL.

Actors who would play the main characters: Blake Lively & Jensen Ackles.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/7 – 3/8.

Vickie McKeehan

  

I like to write about everyday people you can root for, putting them in difficult, real life situations, and have them rise to the occasion using their wits and strong will to overcome the obstacles. And I especially want to give my readers a resolution along with a happy ending.

http://www.vickiemckeehan.com

  

Connect with Vickie:
       


Unintended Consequences : Free Kindle eBook

Editor’s Note: This legal thriller is not going to be an easy one to put down, once you pick it up! Find out if a convicted killer was wrongly accused…

The suspense in this book absolutely hooked me!


Book Description: Dani Trumball is a working mom with a long commute, a son with special needs, and a rewarding job writing appeals briefs for The Help Innocent Prisoners Project. But a letter from a convicted child-killer on death row turns her life upside down. George Calhoun claims he’s been wrongly accused. The story he tells Dani, if it’s true, will stretch her understanding of a parent’s love. Can she track down the truth before it’s too late for George?

Readers who like Scott Turow, John Grisham and Michael Connolly will like UNINTENDED CONSEQUENCES.

Author’s Inspiration:  “Write what you know,” is the time-tested adage. As a lawyer and a working mother, I created a protagonist whose both committed to her family and to her job, and feels the pressure of balancing both. Because of my interest in the wrongly convicted, I made my protagonist an attorney working for the Help Innocent Prisoner’s Project.

Actor Who Would Play the Main Character: Julia Roberts.

From the Book:  I didn’t kill my little girl. The body in the woods—that wasn’t my daughter. The words on the page kept ringing in Dani Trumball’s ears. I loved my little girl and only wanted to help her.
Most of the letters on her desk Dani went through quickly, spotting the scams easily enough and tossing them aside for a quick response from her secretary. “Dear (fill in the blank): We regret that the Help Innocent Prisoners Project is unable to assist you at this time.”  Others rang true and might warrant some added sentences. “While we appreciate your circumstances, the many requests for our limited services mean we can only accept a few cases.  We wish you the best of luck in finding someone else to help you.” Only a few, a very few, were taken on.

Get the Free Kindle eBook Now ➤

This book is free 3/6-3/7.

Marti Green

   

Marti Green is a wife, mother of two sons, and grandmother of four children. She lives in Central Florida with her husband and cat.

MY FAVORITE FOOD: Salmon (but if I’m honest it’s ice cream).

WHERE I WRITE: My desk in my bedroom.

WHAT I LISTEN TO: Classic rock and folk rock.

MY FAVORITE SHOW: Homeland.

www.martigreen.net

Connect with Marti:
       



Page 260 of 283« First...102030...258259260261262...270280...Last »